Eight Basic Movements

A general Q & A forum

Moderator: Scott M. Rodell

leftsider

Eight Basic Movements

Post by leftsider » Wed Apr 21, 2010 11:27 pm

Having a GRTC class where someone does not say the phrase "eight basic movements" is as common as watching a boxing match and not hearing a bell. It's clear that the eight basic movements are important--fundamental even--so I was surprised that in my searching for forum posts for beginners I never found a thread directly covering it. There are several posts where it is mentioned offhandedly, like one post where Laoshi refers someone to the Yang Family Secret Transmissions, but there is only one post where the eight postures are even listed.

So I began to look beyond the forums to other sources online. Invariably I found 13 instead of 8 basic taiji movements, and because I am a total beginner I assumed that this was from another family line or something. It wasn't until I found this Wikipedia entry on tuishou that I realized that what we call "eight basic movements" are the Eight Gates which, along with the Five Steps, created the 13 basic movements I saw mentioned everywhere.

From the Wikipedia Article:
The Eight Gates (八門 bā mén):
P'eng (掤, py péng) - An upward circular movement, forward or backward, yielding or offsetting usually with the arms to disrupt the opponent's centre of gravity, often translated as "Ward Off." Peng is also described more subtly as an energetic quality that should be present in every taiji movement as a part of the concept of "song" (鬆) -- or relaxation -- providing alertness, the strength to maintain structure when pressed, and absence of muscular tension in the body.
Lü (履, lǜ) - A sideways, circular yielding movement, often translated as "Roll Back."
Chi (擠 (simpl.: 挤), jǐ) - A pressing or squeezing offset in a direction away from the body, usually done with the back of the hand or outside edge of the forearm. Chi is often translated as "Press."