Qing Qianlong or not?

Sword typology and Edge Weapons forms of the Chinese Empire and related cultures with an emphasis on their relationship to Swordsmanship.

Moderators:Scott M. Rodell, Philip Tom

John McD
Qing Qianlong or not?

Post by John McD » Sat Jun 19, 2010 5:33 pm

Hi I've just joined, I spotted a sword in an antique shop over a week ago and have been researching ever since. It's fascinating. I'd really appreciate some feed back on the sword being genuine or not.

All the photos and comments/ desciptions are here: http://www.swordforum.com/forums/showth ... p?t=101520

Thanks in advance. I'm not a sword expert but I've handled European swords of over 150 years with sharpened blades and without (Wilkinson, etc...) This sword has the same black patinated blade, I don't think this can be faked. I'm an Engineer and understand corrossion of steel, but I've no real experience of swords and none of bronze.

Whilst awaiting membership here, I visited the link to Qianlong swords. This sword has the same type latice with the 'V' shape.

Thanks,
John

Nik

Re: Qing Qianlong or not?

Post by Nik » Sun Jun 20, 2010 6:03 am

What the other said. Too many bells ringing with this sword, the gold pattern, the cross section, the degree of preservance up to the tight fit, no signs of use on the handle, etc. As a practical sword with a nice antique touch, it could be worth up to the $1500 mark if the blade has correct dimensions and is well made (sanmei), but for collection, nope. If it is a monosteel make with some acid treatment, $500 would be ok from the "nice look" POV, and that is already generous. BTW, have a look if that is really rayskin on the sheath, or a plastic foil with a rayskin pattern, like on some samples I got last year.