Intro to General Taiji Discussion

A general Q & A forum

Moderator:Scott M. Rodell

leftsider
Intro to General Taiji Discussion

Post by leftsider » Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:00 pm

Hi All,

I've been taking taijiquan at the DC GRTC for 9 months. I have no experience in martial arts, self defense or structured fighting. I like to think of myself as a blank page, ready to be written upon by Laoshi and my seniors. :wink:

I've been lurking the forums for about 6 months. There's a lot of information, but most of the recent activity is by 5yr+ students about 3yr+ -level topics. At first I wanted to complain about that, then I thought to ask every question I could think of; but any good forum participant knows to look for your question in the archives before asking. It was here that I found several threads mostly from 2-4 years ago (when all you guys were closer to my level!) that are really useful to total beginners like myself. I decided to list them here for the benefit of others; maybe this can become a "sticky" thread that stays at the top if it becomes valuable enough.

If you have any threads you think are of particular use to a novice, please share.

Taijiquan 101 FAQ:

On The Taiji Roadmap
A basic discussion of where you start and how you progress/grow through the various classes GRTC offers.

On The 5 Principles
Choose a principle each week and incorporate it into your daily practice. Practice daily!

On Progressing with Patience
I wish Laoshi would supplement this with the talk he gave in class recently about the distance from 0% to 95% and the distance from 95% to 100%. The combination has really helped me to commit to a long-term schedule of perpetual improvement.

On Taiji and Other Forms of Exercise
This is not as firm an answer as one might hope, but gives clarity to the aspects of exercise and strength training that could inhibit taiji progress.

On Commonly Mentioned Concepts