Professor Huo Chi Kwang

A general Q & A forum

Moderator:Scott M. Rodell

Alan Ludmer
Professor Huo Chi Kwang

Post by Alan Ludmer » Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:56 am

Dear Scott,
Some questions have been raised on this site regarding Professor Huo Chi Kwang, his linage, the Yang Personal Family Form, and his relationship to Yangjia Michuan Taijiquan. I was a private student of Professor Huo from 1969-1972 and studied regularly with him from 1974 through the mid 1980s. The Professor taught several Tai Chi forms, Ba Gua, Hsing I, and sword. My primary study was a highly complex form which the Professor called the Yang Family Personal Style. It appears to be very similar to your Michuan form. The Professor stated to me that he learned this Personal Family Form from the Yang Family. He did not claim personal authorship. Although, a student of Yang Shao Huo, the Professor never stated that he learned this form from Shao Huo. To the best of my knowledge, he never mentioned Master Wang or Michuan.

I find it impossible to believe that a person of Professor Huo’s professional standing and personal integrity would tell students that he stole this form from another teacher. All his long term students agree that the Professor: was reticent about his personal life and linage; had limited English skills, and from 1970 on grew increase deaf. I believe that what some student (?) of the Professor may have stated is due to a miss-understanding.

The Professor moved to Taiwan in 1949 and worked with a number of noted masters. Master Wang stated that the Professor studied with him and that the Professor had a form mastered when he came to Taiwan. With all respect, we probably will never have an authoritative understanding of where and how the Professor learned the Personal Family form and what he may or may not have received from Master Wang. The key point is that we respect one another and strive to be worthy students of our arts.

With all respect and best wishes to you and your school,