Forms practice using a sharp blade.

Discussion of Chinese historical swordsmanship from all styles.

Moderator:Scott M. Rodell

fzara2000
Forms practice using a sharp blade.

Post by fzara2000 » Fri Mar 07, 2008 2:30 pm

I would like to know what the experts and teachers think about forms training with a live blade vs a blunt one.

As a beginner I always practice forms using a wooden reproduction or an un-sharpened Adam Hsu Jian. I rarely use live blades for forms and almost only use them in cutting practice.

The problem is that most unsharpened swords, aluminum, and wood ones are lighter and feel different than real ones.

Note: I'm refering to solo forms only, not sparring.
Frank Zaria

B.Ko

Post by B.Ko » Fri Mar 07, 2008 5:30 pm

I practice with sharp modern and antique jian. I use wooden ones in sparring or if I'm trying some moves I'm not familiar with.

The sharp sword keeps one mindful with the proper mind intent of practicing with a real weapon. I've seen lots of people treat their wooden swords like...well a blunt stick...and they do things that would cut themselves to shreds with a real sword.

fzara2000

Post by fzara2000 » Fri Mar 07, 2008 9:23 pm

Definitely when using the non-sharp blade some of the respect is unintentionally lost.

PS: I would love to hear Mr. Rodell's opinion on the subject of sharp vs blund blade for forms..
Frank Zaria

Scott M. Rodell
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Forms practice using a sharp blade.

Post by Scott M. Rodell » Wed Mar 19, 2008 7:39 am

fzara2000 wrote:... teachers think about forms training with a live blade vs a blunt one...