Seeking advice on buying a new jian

Discussion of Chinese historical swordsmanship from all styles.

Moderator:Scott M. Rodell

nyrell
Seeking advice on buying a new jian

Post by nyrell » Tue Nov 06, 2007 4:10 pm

Hi,

I would like to ask for some advice from all of you who own at least one sharp sword.

I'm just back from a great weekend seminar (Swordfish 2007, http://www.ghfs.se/swordfish/) where I got another chance to do some test cutting. Once again I realized that test cutting is a really important aspect of learning to use the sword properly, and that I really need to buy myself a sharp sword as soon as possible.

If I buy a sharp sword it must be of good enough quality so that it will hold up to serious practice over a long period of time. Looking at what is available from Huanuo, as I see it I have two choices:

1. Buy a good mono steel sword for around $500.
2. Buy an even better sanmei sword for around $1000.

As I am a beginner when test cutting is concerned, do you think it would be better to start with a cheaper sword, that might be ruined from the misstakes that I might do as a beginner and then buy a sanmei later on when my skill has improved?

Or is it reasonable to expect that I should be able to avoid ruining the sword with beginner misstakes, in which case it would be a better idea to buy a sanmei directly?

It would be very interesting to hear both from people who bought a cheaper sword first, and people who bought an expensive sword first. Did you regret your choice? Is the sword keeping up well? Is it good enough for the practice that you want to do? Did you manage to ruin your sword by doing something stupid? If so, please tell me how so that I can try to avoid it! :-)

Looking forward to your answers,

Mattias Nyrell
Linköping, Sweden

B.Ko

Post by B.Ko » Wed Nov 07, 2007 12:50 am