Difficulties in traveling and training.

Discussion of Chinese historical swordsmanship from all styles.

Moderator:Scott M. Rodell

Aidan O'Brien
Difficulties in traveling and training.

Post by Aidan O'Brien » Mon Jan 17, 2011 11:59 pm

Hey everyone, I thought I'd make a new post for the New Year.

So I just spent the last two months travelling. The first month was purely for work (and in the navy that's not exactly fun), the second was what it was paying for. But the core point of this post is that I spent essentially two months without a reliable training jian. At sea, there's no room to train so I didn't even bother with anything other than stance work, the second month, I bought an el cheapo "Tai Chi Jian" for the month I was overseas. I started training properly again with my mujian from Graham yesterday when I returned (only light training sessions at the moment, since I'm shaking the end of a cold off) and am trying to decide whether or not the training with such a light and flimsy SLO was worth it. Even knowing and self correcting for the light weight, when I hefted the mujian and moved through the 54, there were extra wrist snaps that had snuck in. Things that doing with a real weighted blade is rather... uncomfortable.

But coming back up from training today where I managed to get a good couple of goes through the form, I felt a lot better about it. The lack of jetlag also helped a bit with that too. But the sheer pleasure I get from training in jianfa was back in full force when training with my mujian (I was simply going through the motions with the lightweight blade in South Africa).

So in closing, how does everyone else deal with training while travelling? Go through the motions to simply maintain the knowledge of forms until you get home and can train properly? Take a break? Travel with proper swords at all times?

taiwandeutscher

Re: Difficulties in traveling and training.

Post by taiwandeutscher » Tue Jan 18, 2011 10:56 pm