A J-sword collector turns to the West

Sword typology and Edge Weapons forms of the Chinese Empire and related cultures with an emphasis on their relationship to Swordsmanship.

Moderators:Scott M. Rodell, Philip Tom

alfanator
A J-sword collector turns to the West

Post by alfanator » Thu Apr 02, 2009 9:06 pm

Hello. First posting here. I have been collecting and training in J-swords for over 20 years but have a keen interest in Chinese swords for about as long as i could remember. It is a tough field ...for every 500 J-swords i see maybe one good Chinese one but many bad fakes. I really appreciate the efforts by the folks here to advance its appreciation and study.

Now that I find myself living in Shanghai for a couple of years for the day job, I would like to dive deeper into the study and appreciation of Chinese steel swords. Any good local resources to seek out in Shanghai or China? Any good resources to study?

Some simple questions that i have been pondering...
I have seen a few decent Duan Jians in the market, were these used quite a bit by the civilian population?
Is there any historical data on square handled vs. round handled daos? The former seems rather uncomfortable to use.

Peter Dekker

Re: A J-sword collector turns to the West

Post by Peter Dekker » Tue Apr 07, 2009 8:18 pm

Hi,

Welcome to the forum, and I'm pleased to read about your growing interest in Chinese arms. Only few Japanese sword enthusiasts venture into Chinese territory, for reasons yet unclear to me. As much as enthusiasts of Chinese can enrich themselves by looking at similarities between Chinese Islamic arms, Japanese enthusiasts can learn more by looking at the similarities and differences between Chinese and Japanese arms.