Box for Sword storage

How to restore antique arms & repair practice swords.

Moderator:Philip Tom

Albert F
Box for Sword storage

Post by Albert F » Thu Jan 10, 2008 1:32 pm

Hi all,

I am wondering if anyone has tried making or sourcing a box for either a dao or jian. I am thinking of making a present of either to my teacher and thought it would be nice to present it in a wooden box.

Many thanks,

Albert
Albert F

Dublin Ireland

Graham Cave

Post by Graham Cave » Fri Jan 11, 2008 5:26 am

Hi Albert,

I'm in the process of designing boxes for both dao and jian. Unfortunately, most of my time at the moment is being taken up by our Sword Society and the impending UK sword ban. It could be a while before I get a design finalised.

Here's a pic of a prototype - made in softwood for the purpose of sorting out dimensions:

It's simple enough to make a box to put a sword in but a good design takes quite a bit more effort and ruminating over.

BTW, I am a woodworker. Previously I was making furniture and repairing antiques.

Albert F

Post by Albert F » Mon Jan 14, 2008 4:36 pm

Hi Graham,

Many thanks for the reply. You can see form the box so far that you 've made that your a dab hand! That's a really tidy job. Have you had a chane to start the inside? How are you going to hold the case closed?

Just as I am writing this I hear on the news of a guy in DUblin who had his hand severed by a samurai sword. All over the news were calls to have swords banned by politicians and all the usual things. I saw your website which is great - finally a site for Chinese swords!

All the best,

Albert
Albert F

Dublin Ireland

Scott M. Rodell
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Box for Sword storage

Post by Scott M. Rodell » Tue Jan 15, 2008 3:28 am

Albert F wrote:... a box for either a dao or jian...